Tags

,

Please excuse the fact that I’ve been so MIA lately.  I have been crazy busy teaching, taking on extra responsibilities, and more.  All while trying to maintain what sanity I have left, which isn’t a lot.  I am a high school special education teacher so I stay busy throughout my day.  Teaching is the most rewarding jobs I have ever had.  Especially teaching students with special needs.

I have stories for DAYS about all of the sweet things my students have said or done.  Each have their own unique gift, personality, and struggles. These students have the sweetest souls and the kindest hearts.  I have had some incredibly rewarding moments already, and it’s just the beginning of October (shoot, I’ve had rewarding moments since the first day of school).

I receive many “I love you’s”, little rascal waves (I taught them the hand signal from the movie, and now we do that to one another all the time), hugs, letters and drawings throughout the day.

One of the most touching moments didn’t come from my kiddos, but from the rest of the school. At our Homecoming assembly, a student spoke about our Special Needs sports program and of ways students can volunteer to help.  She then pointed the crowd to the section in which our students were sitting/standing at.  Slowly, and unprompted, the entire school started clapping.  Then, the students began to stand.  The entire school, students, athletes, band, staff, etc., was on their feet giving my students a standing ovation.  Of course I began crying, per usual.  (I didn’t do my ugly “Kim K. cry”.. yet. I saved that for the car ride home).

Of course, high school students are at the sassy, think they’re invincible stage., but they also have sweet hearts as well.  I work at a school where love radiates throughout the hallways for my students.

I am so lucky to be their teacher, especially at the school in my district.

